3130 Search Results for:

Blackwater
Conn Iggulden

A dark, chilling psychological thriller from the number one bestselling author of the Emperor series. Blackwater was published as part of the Quick Reads initiative on World Book Day 2006.

How do you know when you're in too deep?

Davey has always lived in the shadow of his older brother, a smiling sociopath who will stop at nothing to protect himself and his family. But when the shadowy figure of Denis Tanter comes into Davey's life, how far will the bond of brotherhood

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Iron Tiger
Jack Higgins

Classic adventure from the million copy bestseller Jack Higgins

The called it the Place of Silence: the last frozen barrier between Balpur and Tibet. An icy wilderness where desperate men made a living smuggling guns across the border.

Even for the bravest, the luck has to run out...

On what he thought would be his last flight, Jack Drummond found his own recipe for disaster. A deadly cargo of machine guns. A band of ruthless guerrillas. And a confrontation with the

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Election
Tom Perrotta

A brilliantly funny novel from the author of ‘The Abstinence Teacher’ and ‘Little Children’, made into an acclaimed film starring Reece Witherspoon and Matthew Broderick.

Tracy Flick wants to be president of Winwood High. She’s one of those ambitious girls who finds time to do it all: edit the yearbook, star in the school musical, sleep with her English teacher. Staunch idealist, Jim McAllister (aka ‘Mr M’) thinks the students deserve better. So he persuades Paul Warren – a well-liked,

Categories: Fiction / General
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Cleft
Doris Lessing

Doris Lessing, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature, invites us to imagine a mythical society free from sexual intrigue, free from jealousy, free from petty rivalries: a society free from men.

An old Roman senator embarks on what may be his last endeavour: the retelling of the story of human creation. He recounts the history of the Clefts, an ancient community of women living in an Edenic, coastal wilderness, in the valley of an overshadowing mountain. The Clefts have no need, or

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Quick
Laura Spinney

The chilling, ghostly account of a doctor who is determined to find light in a lifeless body.

Patient DL lies motionless in a small room at the end of a hospital corridor. She has suffered massive damage to her brain, and it's not clear whether she can see or hear the world around her.

When Sarah Newman, the narrator of this ghostly tale, is charged with finding a spark of light in her lifeless body, she is drawn into a drama which extends far beyond the hospital walls. What

Categories: Fiction / General
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Zoology
Ben Dolnick

A funny, wise and heartwarming story of a young man’s first forays into love during a long, hot summer in New York City.

Henry likes to think of himself as a promising jazz musician. The truth, however, is slightly less glamorous. At 18, he's dropped out of university, lives at home with his bickering parents, and spends most of his time with the family dog. The outlook, it seems, is bleak. So when his brother offers to put him up for the summer in his New York City apartment, Henry

Categories: Fiction / General
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Family Tree
Barbara Delinsky

A thought-provoking novel about a family with a secret that has the power to tear them apart. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult.

Dana Clarke has it all – a husband, Hugh, who she adores, a beautiful home in a wealthy area, and a baby on the way. But, when her daughter, Lizzie, is born, what should be the happiest day of her life turns out to be the moment that her world falls apart.

Lizzie is beautiful, healthy, and black... Born from two white parents, there are only two

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Sadie
Jane Elliott

The explosive first novel from the author of the bestselling ‘The Little Prisoner’ is a gripping tale of a woman whose troubled childhood comes back to haunt her.

In the chill of a winter's morning, a sweet and likeable 13-year-old girl unexpectedly gives birth in the bathroom of her council flat. The baby, the product of a brutal rape by her stepfather, is whisked away to hospital and is eventually adopted by a rich suburban couple. As far as everyone is concerned, Sadie will never

Categories: Fiction / General
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Sixth Wife
Suzannah Dunn

A gripping novel of love, passion, betrayal and heartbreak. Katherine Parr survived Henry VIII to find true love with Thomas Seymour – only to realise that her love was based on a lie.

Clever, sensible and well-liked, Katherine Parr trod a knife edge of diplomacy and risk during her marriage to an ageing, cantankerous King Henry. When he died, she was in her late thirties and love, it seemed, had passed her by. Until, that is, the popular Thomas Seymour – bold, handsome, witty and

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
What Rhymes with Bastard?
Linda Robertson

The hilariously candid story of an unbelievably dysfunctional and disintegrating relationship.

When her beloved Jack got banged up in a mental hospital after trying to sail down the Thames in a makeshift raft, Linda didn’t take the hint. Instead, she married him and moved to San Francisco, where she planned to get ahead. Alas, her blue-skied visions hadn’t included unemployment, arguments, or Jack’s desire to sleep with as many women as he could get his hands on.

As romance

Categories: Fiction / General
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite