345 Search Results for:

The Conspirators:
Dumas, Alexandre

Trajectory presents classics of world literature with 21st century features! Our original-text editions include the following visual enhancements to foster a deeper understanding of the work: Word Clouds at the start of each chapter highlight important words. Word, sentence, paragraph counts, and reading time help readers and teachers determine chapter complexity. Co-occurrence graphs depict character-to-character interactions as well character to place interactions. Sentiment indexes

Categories: Fiction / Historical
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Sharpe’s Christmas
Bernard Cornwell

A Richard Sharpe short story, featuring scenes of action and adventure at Christmas.

‘You’ll like Irati,’ Colonel Hogan said. ‘It’s a nothing place, Richard. Hovels and misery, that’s all it is and all it ever will be, but that’s where you’re going for Christmas.’

Sharpe was sent to Irati because maybe the French were going there. The garrison planned to march at Christmas in the hope that their enemies would be too bloated with beef and wine to fight, but Hogan had got wind of

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Death at Dawn: A Liberty Lane Thriller
Caro Peacock

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day’s work for Liberty Lane: a new heroine for fans of Matthew Hawkwood and Sarah Waters’s Victorian novels.

June 1837. She should have remained in the care of her sour aunt in Chalke Bissett, but Liberty Lane was never one to obey instructions. Eager to be reunited with her beloved father, she heads for Dover. But her hopes of surprising him as he steps off the boat are dashed by an anonymous note informing her that he has been

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Sixth Wife
Suzannah Dunn

A gripping novel of love, passion, betrayal and heartbreak. Katherine Parr survived Henry VIII to find true love with Thomas Seymour – only to realise that her love was based on a lie.

Clever, sensible and well-liked, Katherine Parr trod a knife edge of diplomacy and risk during her marriage to an ageing, cantankerous King Henry. When he died, she was in her late thirties and love, it seemed, had passed her by. Until, that is, the popular Thomas Seymour – bold, handsome, witty and

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Queen’s Sorrow
Suzannah Dunn

A queen brought low by love compromised and power abused – the tragedy of Mary Tudor.

These are desperate times for Mary Tudor. As England’s first ruling queen, her joy should be complete when she marries Philip, the dashing Prince of Spain. But despite her ardent devotion, he’s making it painfully obvious that he cares little for his new wife – and her struggle to produce an heir only makes him colder towards him. Lonely and depressed, Mary begins to vent her anguish on her people –

Categories: Fiction / Historical
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Resurrectionist
James McGee

Hawkwood, the Regency James Bond, returns in this gripping, action packed sequel to the bestselling ‘Ratcatcher’.

Matthew Hawkwood. Soldier, spy, lover – a man as dangerous as the criminals he hunts.

The tough Bow Street Runner is back where he's not wanted, in the most forbidding places London has to offer: its graveyards and the rank, sinister halls of Bedlam, the country’s most notorious lunatic asylum.

There are missing bodies all around – dead and alive.

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Man of Honour
Iain Gale

The first in a stunning new historical adventure series, perfect for all fans of Sharpe

Meet Lieutenant Jack Steel – gentleman, soldier, hero.

Upper Bavaria, 1704. The British army, triumphant, fresh from victory, stands proudly to attention, ready to fight for honour and glory. Their enemy is Louis XIV of France, a megalomaniac intent on possessing all Europe.

Among this proud group of men stands Lieutenant Jack Steel, admired by his men, the finest infantry in Queen

Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
A Corpse in Shining Armour
Caro Peacock

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day’s work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters’s Victorian novels.

London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet.

Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn's sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into

Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Independence of Miss Mary Bennet
Colleen McCullough

From an internationally bestselling author comes a novel of what came next after Lizzy Bennet married Mr Darcy, Jane Bennet married Mr Bingley – but what became of the middle daughter, Mary?

Readers of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE will remember that there were five Bennet sisters. Now, twenty years on, Jane has a happy marriage and large family; Lizzy and Mr Darcy now have a formidable social reputation; Lydia has a reputation of quite another kind; Kitty is much in demand in London’s parlours

Categories: Fiction / Historical
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Second Mrs Darcy
Elizabeth Aston

Romance and scandal abound in this warm and witty tale of the young Octavia Darcy. Perfect for Austen addicts everywhere!

‘I am a woman of independent means, definitely in possession of a good fortune, but I am not in the least in want of a husband!’

So declares Octavia Darcy. Raised as a poor relation, she is sent off to India to be married, only to have her brief happiness as the second wife of Captain Darcy dashed by his early death. But an unexpected legacy leaves her

Categories: Fiction / Historical
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite