498 Search Results for:

The Cleft
Doris Lessing

Doris Lessing, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature, invites us to imagine a mythical society free from sexual intrigue, free from jealousy, free from petty rivalries: a society free from men.

An old Roman senator embarks on what may be his last endeavour: the retelling of the story of human creation. He recounts the history of the Clefts, an ancient community of women living in an Edenic, coastal wilderness, in the valley of an overshadowing mountain. The Clefts have no need, or

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Flight
Bryan Malessa

A powerful novel set at the end of World War II about one woman and her family's struggle for survival.

The thrust of this epic novel occurs in the spring of 1945, during an event known in Germany as Die Flucht, or The Flight, when some 12 million Eastern European ethnic-Germans fled their ancestral homes to escape the advancing Soviet Army.

‘The Flight’ tells the story of Ida, a mother who attempts to take her children from their village in East Prussia to the assumed safety of

Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Florence and Giles
John Harding

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher

1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house's many ghosts and is troubled by a

Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Holiday in a Coma & Love Lasts Three Years: two novels by Frédéric Beigbeder
Frédéric Beigbeder

One night in a Parisian nightclub and the aftermath of a marriage provide the stories for these two novels by Frederic Beigbeder, award-winning author of ‘Windows on the World’.

In ‘Holiday in a Coma’, Marc Marronnier, a shallow, superficial, rich Parisian who works as an advertising executive, is invited by his old friend to the opening of a new nightclub called The Shitter (a satirical take on the famous Paris nightclub Les Bains Douche). Taking place over a single unforgettable

Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Little Bird
Camilla Way

Way’s first novel was launched to amazing reviews. Her second novel is a story of love, possession and identity, and is as compelling and addictive as her first.

It took one second to snatch the child. One silent, unseen moment to pluck her from the world. In a click of a finger, a blink of an eye, she was gone. As if, like a bird, she had just flown away.

Kate never speaks about the past, and you would never know at first who she was. But, if you looked closely, you might see

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Pagan House
David Flusfeder

The much-anticipated new novel from the acclaimed author of ‘The Gift ‘ – a blend of detective novel, historical fiction and the painful coming-of-age of a confused young boy.

‘Edgar was neither hard-bitten nor hard-boiled. He hadn’t seen too much – he’d hardly seen anything at all – and he was bursting, overflowing, with inaccessible juvenile potency. No one would suspect him of a dangerous agenda. But he could not drive a car. And he still needed permission to stay out past

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Pynter Bender
Jacob Ross

The first novel from a major new talent in Anglo-Caribbean writing set in and around the cane fields of Grenada.

Pynter Bender is a child of the cane fields of Grenada, the second smallest independent state in the world. This extraordinary novel, Jacob Ross's first, experienced through a boy born blind but whose eyes are healed, charts the painful awakening of a rural population, essentially organised around serfdom, into a raw and uncertain future that can only be achieved through

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Once Upon a River
Bonnie Jo Campbell

A girl with a gun fights for survival in the American wilderness, in a tale that will enthral fans of The Hunger Games and True Grit.

After the violent death of her father, in which she is complicit, Margo takes to the Stark River in her boat, with only a few supplies and a biography of Annie Oakley, in search of her vanished mother.

But the river, Margo’s childhood paradise, is a dangerous place for a young woman travelling alone, and she must be strong to survive, using her

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Death of Eli Gold
David Baddiel

A novel from David Baddiel, comedian, columnist and author of the critically-praised The Secret Purposes.

As Eli Gold, a famous old writer lies dying in a hospital in New York, his family gather around his bed. His first wife Violet is too old to travel from London but Harvey, their son, who has never emerged from the shadow of his overpowering father, makes the journey. And there is Colette, a six-year old daughter from a second marriage, struggling to make sense of the fact her

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Northern Clemency
Philip Hensher

An epic chronicle of the last 20 years of British life from the Booker longlisted and Granta Best of Young British novelist, Philip Hensher.

Beginning in 1974 and ending with the fading of Thatcher's government in 1996, ‘The Northern Clemency’ is Philip Hensher's epic portrait of an entire era, a novel concerned with the lives of ordinary people and history on the move.

Set in Sheffield, it charts the relationship between two families: Malcolm and Katherine Glover and their

search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite