97 Search Results for:

In the Land of White Death
Albanov,Valerian
In 1912, six months after Robert Falcon Scott and four of his men came to grief in Antarctica, a thirty-two-year-old Russian navigator named Valerian Albanov embarked on an expedition that would prove even more disastrous. In search of new Arctic hunting grounds, Albanov's ship, the Saint Anna, was frozen fast in the pack ice of the treacherous Kara Sea-a misfortune grievously compounded by an incompetent commander, the absence of crucial nautical charts, insufficient fuel, and inadequate
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Collected Autobiographies of Maya Angelou
Angelou,Maya
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER This Modern Library edition contains I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Gather Together in My Name, Singin' and Swingin' and Gettin' Merry Like Christmas, The Heart of a Woman, All God's Children Need Traveling Shoes, and A Song Flung Up to Heaven.   When I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings was published to widespread acclaim in 1969, Maya Angelou garnered the attention of an international audience with the triumphs and tragedies of her childhood in the American South. This
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Mom & Me & Mom
Angelou,Maya
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The story of Maya Angelou's extraordinary life has been chronicled in her multiple bestselling autobiographies. But now, at last, the legendary author shares the deepest personal story of her life: her relationship with her mother.   For the first time, Angelou reveals the triumphs and struggles of being the daughter of Vivian Baxter, an indomitable spirit whose petite size belied her larger-than-life presence-a presence absent during much of Angelou's early life. When
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Complete Poetry
Angelou,Maya
Throughout her illustrious career in letters, Maya Angelou gifted, healed, and inspired the world with her words. Now the beauty and spirit of those words live on in this new and complete collection of poetry that reflects and honors the writer's remarkable life.   Every poetic phrase, every poignant verse can be found within the pages of this sure-to-be-treasured volume-from her reflections on African American life and hardship in the compilation Just Give Me a Cool Drink of Water 'fore I Diiie
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Basic Works of Aristotle
Aristotle
Preserved by Arabic mathematicians and canonized by Christian scholars, Aristotle’s works have shaped Western thought, science, and religion for nearly two thousand years. Richard McKeon’s The Basic Works of Aristotle–constituted out of the definitive Oxford translation and in print as a Random House hardcover for sixty years–has long been considered the best available one-volume Aristotle. Appearing in paperback at long last, this edition includes selections from the Organon, On the Heavens,
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Islam
Armstrong,Karen
No religion in the modern world is as feared and misunderstood as Islam. It haunts the popular Western imagination as an extreme faith that promotes authoritarian government, female oppression, civil war, and terrorism. Karen Armstrong's short history offers a vital corrective to this narrow view. The distillation of years of thinking and writing about Islam, it demonstrates that the world's fastest-growing faith is a much richer and more complex phenomenon than its modern fundamentalist strain
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Zealot
Aslan,Reza
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Good Housekeeping · Booklist · Publishers Weekly · Bookish From the internationally bestselling author of No god but God comes a fascinating, provocative, and meticulously researched biography that challenges long-held assumptions about the man we know as Jesus of Nazareth.   Two thousand years ago, an itinerant Jewish preacher and miracle worker walked across the Galilee, gathering followers to establish what he called the
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The City of God
Saint Augustine
One of the great cornerstones in the history of Christian philosophy, The City of God provides an insightful interpretation of the development of modern Western society and the origin of most Western thought. Contrasting earthly and heavenly cities--representing the omnipresent struggle between good and evil--Augustine explores human history in its relation to all eternity. In Thomas Merton's words, "The City of God is the autobiography of the Church written by the most Catholic of her great
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
Meditations
Aurelius,Marcus
Few ancient works have been as influential as the Meditations of Marcus Aurelius, philosopher and emperor of Rome (A.D. 161–180). A series of spiritual exercises filled with wisdom, practical guidance, and profound understanding of human behavior, it remains one of the greatest works of spiritual and ethical reflection ever written. Marcus’s insights and advice—on everything from living in the world to coping with adversity and interacting with others—have made the Meditations required reading
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite
The Dream Lover
Berg,Elizabeth
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand-which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.   At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family's estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name-George Sand-and pursues her dream
Publisher:
search | places | people | sentiment | keywords | category | composite